Bags Packed!

After the last appointment we thought we ought to crack on with packing my hospital bags packed. There are soooo many different lists in books, magazines and websites for what to throw in these bags but I decided to ask for advice from friends with kids who I think I’d be sort of similar too.

As I’m used to travelling around alot I thought i’d be able to do my usual minimalist packing but I hadn’t taken into account that one you put in a packet of nappies and a packet of maternity pads and a bath robe your bag is almost full!

I’ve decided to go for a labour bag and then a separate bag for afterwards that Peter can bring in after the baby is born. (bad move – i hadn’t realised i would be in labour for soo long)

In the background of the picture you can see the Baby Monitor (Thanks Paul!) and the breast pump which both arrived recently. We’ve tried out the monitor and it works really well. I did alot of research before choosing each item so I’m hoping they deliver!

I packed:

4 Baby vests – newborn
4 Babygrows  newborn
baby hat
baby blanket
Pack of brick like maternity towels (wish i’d just gone for super towels with wings)
2pairs of leggings
2 nursing vests
2 nursing tops
a loose shirt
small bottle of water (wish i took a bigger one)
haribos (they annoyed me)
dextrose tablets (made me sick)
slippers
2 fluffy socks
robe
2 night shirts
football shirt to wear during labour
tens machine (the sensation of this just irritated me so it got ditched once the contractions really kicked in)
calming room spritz (didn’t use)
nappies
cotton wool
baby wipes
shampoo
conditioner
shower gel
razor (didn’t use)
mascara
foundation (didn’t use)
eyeliner (!!! What was I thinking!)
lipbalm
camera
chargers for everything
baby towels (not used)
padded pramsuit (looked ridiculous! She was all curled up inside the middle of it. The arms and legs didn’t get used at all😆)

2014 edit:

2nd time around I took:
2 baby grows
2 two cross over fastening vests
8 nappies
Baby wipes (water wipes)
Baby blanket
TShirt to wear in labour (I spent a lot of time naked!!)
Two vests
Two shirts
Nipple cream
Breast pads
4 pairs Massive pants
1 pack superplus nighttime sanitary towels
Shower gel
Deodorant
Big bottle of water with a straw for handsfree sipping
Packet of chocolate buttons

One thought on “Bags Packed!

  1. Reblogged this on Chilled Beans Baby and commented:

    Here was my blog post about what I packed in my hospital bag for each of my births. I’d gone back and added notes about what i used and didn’t use.
    What were the best and worst things you packed for your birth?

    Like

Leave a Reply

