The start of my growing year

20140320-220234.jpg

My mission is to grow our Christmas dinner. Just the vegetables of course. I’m not into livestock – yet.

I’ve bought seeds for brussel sprouts, parsnips, three varieties of potato and two varieties of carrots.

I’d also really like to be self sufficient in terms of preserves like jams and pickles so in addition to the raspberries, gooseberries and rhubarb we have already I’ve bought a blackcurrant bush, onion sets, and a few extra strawberry plants.

And that lot is just for the allotment.

For our back garden I’ve got two varieties of tomato, yellow courgettes, peas, mangetout, French beans, asparagus, broccoli, radishes more strawberries, a whole variety of herbs and a few flowers but only ones that smell nice.

Lots to do!!!

I’ve been over to the allotment to crack on with digging and weeding and am hoping to get the onions and early crop potatoes in on Saturday.

20140320-220300.jpg

Leave a Reply

