Food Food Family Food: Grilled Salmon with Warm Quinoa Salad

Salmon with Quinoa Salad
Salmon with Quinoa Salad

This is more of an assembly job than a recipe. I thought I’d jot it down because its one of my favourite fast meals. Its great hot or cold and so if I know that i’m going to need a packed lunch or picnic for the girls and I one day, I will make this for dinner the night before being sure to make plenty to pack up for the next day.
I let my baby have a few chunks of salmon to grab but flake the rest and mix it with the quinoa for spoon feeding.
My two year old eats it in just the same way as us. I’ve found its quite a good meal for her to practice her knife skills because it’s all quite soft.

Ingredients:

1 Salmon Fillet per person or half a fillet per baby

1/4 cup of Quinoa per person or baby (to allow for lots to go astray!)

1/2 cup of Stock of your choice per 1/4cup of quinoa. (So 1 cup quinoa= 2 cups stock)

2 Tomatoes – i used yellow ones because that was what was ripe in my garden

2 Spring onions

Handful of Parsley

Salt and pepper

Method:

Put your quinoa into a pan and cover with twice the amount of stock. Bring to the boil then lower the heat to simmer with the lid on until all the water is absorbedIMG_6720. Probably around 15mins.

While the quinoa is cooking, season your salmon fillets to your liking -obviously none if a baby will be eating them – then place them under the grill on a medium high heat.

Slice your spring onion, chop or tear your parsley and dice your tomatoes.

Check your salmon and flip it over. I like mine a little undercooked so I would only give it about 5 or 6 minutes each side.

IMG_6520

When the quinoa is cooked throw in the onion tomato and parsley and give it a good mix. Season and add a little olive oil and seasoning if you like.

That’s it! Ready to dish up and dig in.

My husband prefers the quinoa with a bit of dressing on it to moisten it up. I just make a simple vinaigrette by mixing two table spoons of my favourite oil with one table spoon of my favourite vinegar such as white wine vinegar and a teaspoon of french mustard. whisk them together or shake them in a jar before stirring in to the quinoa.

One thought on “Food Food Family Food: Grilled Salmon with Warm Quinoa Salad

Leave a Reply

