Food Food Family Food: Sticky Ribs

11838527_695800640564901_7132879530546008613_o
Its quite a while since I posted a recipe. I’ve written quite a few but I just haven’t quite had time to complete them! I’m now trying to catch up.

We love spare ribs in my house. I make Chinese style ones lots but these are the more American style ones. I’m sure one of my American friends could give me a few pointers about making authentic ribs and if I were cooking just for a special occasion I would probably make them slightly differently but these are for little folk to enjoy.

Just a note about bones. Its really really important to check that there are no sharp, or small fragments of bone on your ribs. Particularly if you are going to give them to a child. If you’re at all nervous or unsure about this or don’t like bones then use belly pork slices instead – preferably rind-less ones.

Ingredients

300g passata
2 garlic cloves, crushed
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1/2 – 1 tsp Cayenne Pepper
1 tsp Smoked Paprika
1kg pork ribs or belly pork slices
3 tbsp honey

Method

Heat oven to 200C/fan 170C/gas 6. Throw all the ingredients except the meat into a freezer bag. Seal it and give it a massage about to combine then add your meat and give it another massage about so its all coated. Its best left for about an hour to marinate in the fridge but you can cook it straight away. You can also put it in the freezer at this point to have ready for sunny weather/parties/dinner another day when you’re busy.

When you’re ready lay the ribs and all the sauce into a large, shallow roasting tin. Cover with foil and bake for 1.5hrs while you relax with a brew, play with the kids or entertain your guests.

Remove foil from tray and bake the ribs for a further 30 – 40 mins, Keep a close eye on them now. Checking them a couple of times until sticky but not burned. Different ovens cook differently so yours might be a bit hotter than mine.

Then thats it. Eat!!

I like to have mine with sweet potato fries or wedges and corn on the cob.

p.s These never hang around long enough for me to photograph them well!

Leave a Reply

